

Minutes of the 2019 IETM General Assembly

30 March 2019, Hull

Barbara Poček welcomed members on behalf of Anne-Cécile Sibué-Birkeland, the President of IETM, who was unfortunately unable to be present. Also present on stage were Ása Richardsdóttir (IETM Secretary General), Abdallah Bahlit (IETM administrator) and Albert Meijer (IETM membership officer)

Members were presented with the links where all the documents for the GA are accessible and pointed towards the printed copies available.

Out of 50 members needed to reach the quorum there were **56** members present so the quorum was reached. The IETM secretariat had received 6 proxies for voting prior to the GA.

Agenda of the GA

- 1. Adoption of the Minutes of the General Assembly in Porto
- 2. Presentation of a Membership strategy and the Ambassador's programme: Albert Meijer
- 3. Presentation of the IDEA Strategy Working Group: Ása Richardsdottir
- 4. Annual report 2018 Ása Richardsdottir
- 5. Activity plan 2019 Ása Richardsdottir
- 6. Budget 2018 and 2019: Abdallah Bahlit
- 7. Election of the Board and Advisors
- 8. Any Other Business
- 9. A farewell word by Nan van Houte

1. Adoption of the minutes of the GA in Porto

Main points:

- Presentation of member's evaluation
- Presentation and adoption of IDEA strategy
 - Annual report and budget accepted
 - Activity plan 2018 accepted
 - Mandate of sitting Board continued, one new member of Advisory committee
- → Minutes were confirmed and accepted without additions.

2. Membership strategy and the Ambassadors program

Being a member organisation is of course very important for IETM to keep an active reflection upon its membership strategy, its membership policy and the benefits for its members. Albert Meijer, IETM's membership officer, has worked on this new proposals regarding the IETM membership policy and the development of an Ambassadors program for over a year. So far it had been discussed with the board and the team, but it was now time for this proposal to be presented to and hopefully adopted by the membership.

Presentation, discussion and adaptation:

a) Engagement of IETM Members

- Local IETM member meet-ups supported by Secretariat
- Idea box in feedback surveys and Talks and Listens
- → Adopted by GA without opposition or additions

b) Ambassador programme

- One year of free membership, possible extension for 2nd and 3rd year
- Travel and accommodation for one Plenary Meeting (Autumn)
- Mentorship by existing IETM member each year
- Ambassador session during Autumn Plenary

Criteria

- Country <3 IETM members
- Motivation; contribution to network
- Focus areas decided by Board every 3 year period
- → Adopted without opposition or additions

c) Individual membership

- Proposal to apply same membership categories to individuals as to organizations.
- → Adopted without opposition or additions

d) Bringing delegates to meetings for non-Associate members

- Max 3 per year, including associated artists
- 20% event discount
- → Adopted with 2 opposing votes and 55 acceptances

e) Applying inflation rates

- 5% inflation fee in 2020
- Correct for inflation every 5 years
- Not been done since (at least) 2001.
- → Adopted with opposing 3 votes and 46 accepting votes

3) Presentation of the IDEA Strategy Working Group

The IDEA action plan aims to

IETM

- stimulate and help IETM members to address the IDEA issues within their organisations, in their professional practices, relations with audiences and funders, and at any other appropriate level
- Contribute to the debate on the IDEA matters held during IETM meetings and as part of IETM's research activities
- Support the IETM Secretariat and the Board in implementing the IDEA Strategy

→ The IDEA strategy group was adopted unanimously by the General Assembly. Notification for application to join the group was sent out during the Hull meeting.

4) Annual report 2018

→ Approved and adopted by the General Assembly

5) Activity plan 2019

→ Approved and adopted by the General Assembly

6) Financial report and financial plan

Abdallah Bahlit presented the financial report for 2018 and the financial plan for 2019.

→ The financial plan of 2019 was adopted without additions

7) Election

For the board members

The Board's proposition to extend Cathie Boyd's term as a board member for strictly one year in order to facilitate the transition in relation to the new Secretary General was approved by the membership.

Continuing mandate:

- Cathie Boyd / Cryptic, United Kingdom (Vice-president) (second term, extended till 2020)
- Geoliane Arab / ONDA, France (first term till 2019, seeks 2nd mandate till 2022)
- Barbara Poček / Glej Theatre, Slovenia (first term till 2020)
- Grzegorz Reske / East European Performing Arts Platform, Poland (Treasurer) (first term till 2020)
- Toni Gonzalez / Escena Internacional Bcn, Spain (second term till 2020)

Leaving:

- Anne-Cécile Sibué-Birkeland / Black Box Teater, Norway (President)
- Denis Van Laeken / Kultuurfaktorij Monty, Belgium (started second term 2018, resigned)

Proposal for 3 new members:

- Jeffrey Meulman, National Dutch Theatre Festival, the Netherlands
- Susanne Næss Nielsen, Dansearena Nord, Norway
- Davide D'Antonio, Associaone Etre, Italy
- → All board members were confirmed and adopted by the General Assembly.

Because there were not enough board members present, the election for the new President of IETM is postponed to the next board meeting, when the board will have a quorum.

For the IETM Advisory Committee

Continuing mandate:

- Anikó Rácz, SÍN Arts and Culture Centre, Hungary (till 2020)
- Caspar Nieuwenhuis, HKU Univ. of the Arts Utrecht, the Netherlands (till 2020)
- Dawn Walton, Independent, United Kingdom (till 2020)
- Zane Estere Gruntmane, Pigeon Bridge, Latvia (till 2021)
- Neil Webb, British Council, United Kingdom (till 2020)
- Vesselin Dimov, ACT, Bulgaria (extended till 2020)
- Pippa Bailey, Independent, Australia (extended till 2020)
- + The 8 members of the Board of Directors

To enable a smooth transition of the secretariat and both boards, two of the advisors have also extended their positions until 2020.

Leaving:

- Lian Bell, Independent, Ireland
- Linda Di Pietro, Indisciplinarte, Italy
- Vahid Evazzadeh, The Counter Institute, Denmark
- Nicolas Bertrand, Independent, France

Proposal for 4 new members

- Clara Giraud, Arts Admin, UK
- Frédéric Poty, Ézéquiel Garcia-Romeu, France
- Cristina Carlini, InTeatro, Italy
- Isa Köhler, Tanz im August, Germany
- → The new advisors were approved by the membership.

8) Any Other Business

Short info was delivered how to get to airports due to maintenance on train routes.

Nenad Antolovic from the next Plenary Meeting in Rijeka (October 24^{th} – 27^{th} 2019) delivered a short message from the Rijeka team, looking forward to meeting all IETM members in a hopefully warm and sunny Croatian city.

9) Farewell to Nan van Houte

Barbara Pocek delivered a thank you farewell to the outgoing president Anne-Cécile Sibué Birkeland, who could not be present at the GA.

Cathie Boyd appeared in a short video also thanking Anne-Cécile and delivering a thank you on behalf of the board to Nan Van Houte.

Outgoing General Secretary, Nan van Houte, then gave a farewell speech to the membership which was very well received by the General Assembly. The board gave Nan a farewell gift and the office team presented her with a memory book with collection of "good byes" from members as well as a farewell trailer showing photos of Nan's tenure at IETM.